The Pat Minish Advocacy award is given for distinguished service to quality educational improvements for all of Georgia’s children. The award was renamed in 2014 to honor long-time GAYC Executive Director Dr. Patricia Minish.

Award criteria

Recipients of the Pat Minish Advocacy award must meet the following criteria:

  • Distinguished service to quality educational improvements for all of Georgia’s children
  • Consistently demonstrating concern for children and families through initiative, commitment and tireless efforts

Recipients of the Pat Minish Advocacy Award

  • 2016: Janet Faircloth

janet-fairclothJanet Faircloth is the education coordinator at McIntosh Trail Early Childhood Development Council where she oversees the education element of McIntosh Trail. Janet always makes sure that she is looking out for the best interest of the staff, parents, and children of every center.  She has truly dedicated a great deal of her time to achieving Quality Rated with almost Three Stars in all seven counties.  She has played a vital role in closing the gap of child care to school systems with both parents and school staff. Janet is always eager to attend trainings to better her understanding so that she can pass down her knowledge to those that she works with each and every day.   She is the leading force in making positive changes in McIntosh Trail’s program because she wants to provide the highest quality care for all of the children in their programs.  Janet is certainly a person who goes above and beyond the call of duty and has truly shown leadership, but not just by talking the talk, but by walking the walk.

  • 2015: Michelle Smith Lank
  • 2014: Phyllis Edwards
  • 2012: Letta Cox
  • 2011: Rodney Lawrence
  • 2010: Jane Brown
  • 2009: Voices for Georgia’s Children
  • 2008:  Wanda Johnson
  • 2007: Catherine Broussard
  • 2005:Pamela Runkle
  • 2004: Angie Moore
  • 2003: Faye Bullard
  • 2002: Marie Barnes
  • 2001: Sharen Hausmann
  • 1994: Nancy E. Travis
  • 1993: Jim Martin
  • 1993: Terry L. Coleman
  • 1992: Julie Sharpe
  • 1992: Brenda James Griffin
  • 1991: Donna Lowery