The GAEYC Technical Assistance Specialist of the Year award is given to an outstanding individual who works individually with child care centers and/or family child care homes to help them improve the quality of their care.

Award Criteria

Recipients of the GAEYC Technical Assistance Specialist of the Year award must meet the following criteria:

  • Outstanding work with child care centers and/or family child care providers to assist them in improving the quality of their child care program
  • Well versed and up-to-date on child care rules and regulations, developmentally appropriate practices, NAEYC accreditation standards and criteria, and  available quality improvement designations, such as but not limited to, NAEYC Accreditation, Quality Rated, and other accreditations
  • Relates well to a variety of people, demonstrates sensitivity to cultural differences, and customizes technical assistance to meet the individual improvement needs of each program
  • Provides technical assistance that enables the child care program to understand best practices and make decisions on their own to sustain quality improvement changes after the TA has ended

Recipients of the GAEYC Technical Assistance Specialist of the Year award

  • 2016: Emily Meadows

emily-meadowsEmily Meadows is a technical assistance coordinator with the Child Care Resource and Referral Agency of Central Georgia. She has been instrumental in assisting many centers through the Quality Rated process, many of which have received a three star rating. She is described by many program administrators as very knowledgeable of state and federal regulations and standards with the ability to assist programs in developing detailed improvement plans. Emily maintains a professional yet caring demeanor with all of her programs. She constantly encourages improvement and pushes programs to try new things to not only meet high standards, but to benefit young children in the best way possible. In addition to her work providing technical assistance, Emily is also very active in her community, serving on the board of Children in Need for her county. She also leads a back to school bash to collect school supplies for children and leads the children’s music program at her church.

  • 2015: Andrea McFarland
  • 2014: Allegra Jackson
  • 2013: Allison Setterlind
  • 2012: Tameka Cummings
  • 2011: Beth Holland
  • 2010: Heather Allen
  • 2009: Joquetta Taylor
  • 2008: Benita Adejube-Mullins
  • 2007: Devanie Schay
  • 2006: Ruby Phillips