The GAEYC Family Child Care Provider of the Year award is given to an outstanding family child care provider in Georgia who shows exemplary work with children and families.

Award criteria

Recipients of the GAEYC Family Child Care Provider of the Year award must meet the following criteria:

  • GAEYC member*
  • Demonstrates exemplary work with children and families
  • Runs a program that strives to meet the individual needs of all children enrolled
  • Continuously strives to improve the program and provide the highest quality child care possible

*Know a qualified family child care provider who is not yet a GAEYC member? Joining is easy, and GAEYC members receive many benefits.

Recipients of the GAEYC Family Child Care Provider of the Year award

  • 2016: Delia Gonzalez

delia-gonzalezDelia Gonzalez has been a family child care provider for over 20 years. Her program serves infants to age 4 and she provides an individualized program to fit the needs and learning style of each child. Delia is bilingual and teaches children in both English and Spanish in addition to using sign language for younger children. Her focus is on preparing children for Pre-K but she is known for the love and emotional support she relishes on each child. Parents and enrolled children are treated like an extended family where birthdays and holidays are celebrated together and often include previously enrolled children and parents. Delia uses her expertise with children to help parents gain insight into their child’s needs and behavior and she guides parents to find sources of referral and service when needed. Delia is an active GAYC member and holds an early childhood degree from Gwinnett Technical College. She has a Two Star Quality Rated program and is awaiting observation to become a Three Star provider. She is an inspiration and support to other providers in many ways through her involvement in various organizations that support high quality child care for young children.

  • 2015: Edelina Lane
  • 2014: Jacqueline Dannette Collister
  • 2013: Pamela M. Fields
  • 2012: Brandy Blake
  • 2011: Kaila Gordon
  • 2010: Linda Davis
  • 2009: Carol Jones
  • 2008: Brinson’s Group Day Care
  • 2007: Glenda Haddock
  • 2006: Barbara Holloway
  • 2005: Geoffrey & Carmentina Banks
  • 2004: Lula Hunt
  • 2003: Bobbie Lee
  • 2002: Vickie Sooy
  • 1999: Carol Preston
  • 1999: Deena Youngblood