The Fan Brooke Award is given to a GAEYC member for grassroots leadership, enthusiasm, and dedication in working with young children. Fan Brooke was the leader of the Steering Committee that met, formed the Georgia Association on Young Children with 24 charter members, and adopted a constitution in 1966. She was the director of the McPhaul Child and Family Development Center at UGA from 1963 until her retirement in 1984.

Award criteria

Recipients of the Fan Brooke Award must meet the following criteria:

  • GAEYC member*
  • Shows innovation, enthusiasm, and dedication in working with young children
  • Shows leadership and is active in the community
  • Has given evidence of the highest standards of ethics

*Know a qualified person who is not yet a GAEYC member? Joining is easy, and GAEYC members receive many benefits.

Recipients of the Fan Brooke Award

  • 2016: Ebony Cray Jones

ebony-cray-jonesEbony Cray Jones has made a tremendous impact in the lives of hundreds of children throughout the metro Atlanta area. Ebony has maintained a strong voice in the communities while volunteering and advocating for the improvements of all children in Atlanta. She has been a committed employee to the children, families and program CDA Kid’s Express since 2008. She supports the children by ensuring their learning environment is warm, safe, fun and inclusive, providing resources and materials to foster positive growth and development. Ebony hosts back to school drives, Read Cross America, Earth Day celebrations, and Week and Month of the Young Child activities for the community. She also serves as a court appointed special advocate (CASA) for DeKalb County and has written and accepted several proclamations for Universal Children’s Day honoring the children of Georgia from the City of Atlanta, DeKalb and Fulton Counties including a letter of recognition from Georgia Governor Nathan Deal. Ebony is a natural leader and tireless activist on behalf of young children.

  • 2015: Audrey Singleton
  • 2014: Ashley Villarreal
  • 2013: Michelle Cutler-Ervin
  • 2012: Phillip Baumgarner
  • 2011: Anita Dailey
  • 2010: Colley Case
  • 2009: Soledad Ruiz
  • 2008: Audrey Collier
  • 2007: Stacey French-Lee
  • 2006: Ellen Hatcher
  • 2005: Lynn Ross
  • 2004: Angela K. Watts
  • 2003: Sandra Ramsey
  • 2002: Yvonne Jeffords
  • 2001: Marsha Gates
  • 1999: Earnestine Ezekiel
  • 1998: Maggie Smith
  • 1997: Pat Gaston
  • 1996: Sallie Devero
  • 1994: Laura Terry
  • 1993: Carmen Ricketts
  • 1992: Patricia Fountain
  • 1991: Patricia W. Richard